Last Sunday saw the first of the YCSPL Blast matchdays, with games at Cleethorpes, Treeton, Wakefield Thornes and Whitley Hall. The accolade of top team score of the day fell to Cleethorpes (208-4 against Tickhill); the highest innings came from Tom Keast of Cleethorpes (86 against Barnsley Woolley Miners); and the best bowling performance was by Jordan Cook of Appleby Frodingham (5-12 against Treeton). There were nine-wicket wins for Cleethorpes over Barnsley and Whitley Hall over Whiston Parish Church, whilst Doncaster Town beat Sheffield Collegiate by just seven runs. 
In the combined league table, Appleby Frodingham, Cleethorpes, Doncaster Town and Whitley Hall all have four points having won both their games, whilst Barnsley, Cawthorne, Elsecar and Wakefield Thornes with one win each, are on two. 
The next round of games will be on Sunday 26 June. 
Also on Sunday, in the second round of the President’s Trophy, there were wins for Elsecar 2nds, Frecheville Community, Kexborough, Oughtibridge War Memorial 2nds, Stocksbridge, Wath 2nds and Worsbrough Bridge. 
Oughtibridge recorded the highest score of the day (209-7) to beat Shiregreen 2nds by three wickets, with a fifth-wicket stand of 114 between Joel Wake (77) and Shahrukh Khan (70). Andrew Ivill took 5-10 in five overs for Elsecar in their win over Whiston Parish Church 2nds, for whom Samuel Bowden scored 76. Callum Bentley took 5-19 in seven overs for Worbrough Bridge in their seven-wicket win over Sprotbrough 2nds; whilst Thava Nig took 4-18 in 7.4 overs in Kexborough’s seven-wicket win over Tickhill 2nds. Elsecar and Stocksbridge both won by eight wickets, but Frecheville Community beat Upper Haugh 2nds by two wickets in the last over. 
The draw for the quarter-finals, to be played on Sunday 12 June, is: 
Darfield 2nds v Worsbrough Bridge 
Frecheville Community v Elsecar 2nds 
Stocksbridge v Kexborough 
Wath 2nds v Oughtibridge War Memorial 2nds 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings