It was the second matchday in the YCSPL T20 Blast yesterday. At Brumby Hall, there were two comfortable wins for Barnsley Woolley Miners; over Appleby Frodingham, by 46 runs, and Whitley Hall, by five wickets. The home side had a seven-wicket win over Whitley Hall in the third game. 
At Dark Lane, the home side were involved in the widest and narrowest margins of wins of the day. In the first game, Liam Wiles returned the best bowling figures of the day, 5-12 in four overs, with Ahmed Matloob taking 3-0 in ten balls, as they bowled Treeton out for the day’s lowest score, just 47, and then knocked off the required runs in 3.3 overs to win by ten wickets. In the second game, Wiles and Taruwar Kohli put on 110 for the first wicket, as they recorded the highest score of the day, 179-4, against Doncaster Town. The visitors, for whom Charlie Kaye’s 104 off 53 balls was the day’s highest individual score, then finished just one run short at 178-6. In the third game, Doncaster had a four-wicket win over Treeton, with Umar Amin contributing 78 out of their winning score of 146-6. 
Sheffield Collegiate won both their games in their group at Abbeydale – a seven-wicket success over Whiston Parish Church and a six-wicket win over Cleethorpes. In the other game, Cleethorpes beat Whiston by seven wickets – Tom Rollinson hitting 80 not out off 42 balls in his side’s 129-3. 
The third side to make the most of ground advantage were Tickhill, who beat Elsecar by six wickets and Wakefield Thornes by eight wickets. James Stuart, with 71 and 42 and Josh Court, with three and four wickets respectively, were their top performers. In the third game, despite Kashif Naveed and Joe Denby putting on 113 for their first wicket in the highest partnership of the day, Elsecar lost by eight wickets to Wakefield Thornes, who successfully chased down a target of 164, largely thanks to James Rhodes’ unbeaten 88 off 51 balls. 
All this means that five teams have won three of their four group games so far. Doncaster Town lead the table on net run rate from Cleethorpes, Cawthorne, Barnsley Woolley Miners and Appleby Frodingham in that order. The top four teams will qualify for the YCSPL finals day. The final group stage matchday is on Sunday 24 July. 
In the T20 Plate group stage, Sprotbrough handsomely won group one, with the day’s two biggest wins, by ten wickets over home side Oughtibridge War Memorial and 138 runs over Rockingham Colliery. 'Player-of-the-day' Sadrian Ward hit an unbeaten 62 off 32 balls as Sprotbrough reached their 114 target in just ten overs in the first game; followed by 96 off 41 balls in the second to lead his side to the day’s top score of 228-5 against Rockingham – added to his three wickets in the two games. In the other game, Oughtibridge beat Rockingham by seven wickets. 
In group two, Coal Aston made home advantage count with a 14-run win over Hallam and a 51-run win over Green Moor, to win their group. In the latter game, 65 from Jack Hall led his side to 147-6, before Shaun Trower took 4-14 as Green Moor were dismissed for 96. In the other game, Hallam beat Green Moor by four wickets, thanks to Nick Dymock’s 69 off 44 balls. 
At Moor Road, Conisbrough won group three with a 64-run win over Sheffield United and three-wicket win overr Wath. In the first game, an unbroken sixth-wicket stand of 114 between Hamzah Ilyas and Josh Whittaker (72 not out off 44 balls) propelled their side to 178-5 before Hassan Bin Shahab’s 4-21 helped restrict United to 114-8. Against Wath, the home side found the Conisbough attack difficult to get away despite Ben Roebuck’s unbeaten half-century, and were restricted to 110-8; in reply, Conisbrough were in trouble at 63-7, but were steered home by unbeaten twenties from Jonathan Redfern and Will Scott. In the other game, Sheffield United beat Wath by eight wickets. 
At Green Lane, another side to take full advantage of playing at home were group four winners Aston Hall, who beat Rotherham Town by 36 runs and Wickersley Old Village by 43. Nasir Omar, with 56 and 38 respectively, was the key man for the home side, getting his team off to good starts, that enabled them to set winning scores. In the other game, Rotherham beat Wickersley by four wickets, surviving a later flurry of wickets to chase down 182 in the last over. 
The semi-finals and final of the T20 Plate will be played at Sheffield Collegiate CC on Sunday 17 July (10.00 start) and the semi-finals are: 
Conisbrough v Aston Hall 
Sprotbrough v Coal Aston 
In the outstanding quarter-final of the ExtraCover Insurance Whitworth Cup, a low-scoring game at Shaw Lane, three wickets from William Nicholson helped Barnsley Woolley Miners 2nds to bowl out Shiregreen for 119; before skipper Nathan Swift, with 50 off 45 balls, and the experienced Stevie Walters, with an unbeaten 45, saw their side home in the 21st over. 
The Whitworth Cup semi-finals, to be played on Sunday 10 July, are: 
Hallam v Barnsley Woolley Miners 2nds 
Sprotbrough v Green Moor 
There were some high-scoring games in the quarter-finals of the Billy Oates Memorial Cup. Leading the way were Thorpe Hesley & High Green 2nds, for whom captain Matthew Bradley-Green hit 132 off 94 balls, adding 118 with Richard Newbold (63) for the fourth wicket, to set his side on the way to a massive 300-6. They then bowled out visitors Doncaster Town 4ths for just 54, with Andy Barlow taking 4-10, to complete a 246-run win. Elliott Ashton hit an unbeaten 121, with fine support from Charlie Wragg (52) and Ben Gillott (77), with both of whom he shared century partnerships to take Whitley Hall 3rds to 273-2. Wragg then took the first three wickets as visitors Mexborough Athletic 2nds were bowled out for 115. An unbeaten 102 off 115 balls from James Hague, who shared an opening stand of 115 with Anthony Siddall (56), led Stocksbridge 2nds to 243-3, before they completed a 157-run win by bowling Ackworth 2nds out for 86. The game at Penistone was more evenly contested, the home club’s 2nd XI reaching 155-8, with Adam Perry taking 4-35, before Glen Michell’s 56 set up Upper Haugh 3rds for a four-wicket win. 
The Billy Oates semi-finals, to be played on Sunday 24 July are: 
Thorpe Hesley & High Green 2nds v Whitley Hall 3rds 
Upper Haugh 3rds v Stocksbridge 2nds 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings