Whitworth Cup first round 
Last year’s finalists, Sprotbrough, suffered a narrow five-run defeat at home to Sheffield Collegiate 2nds. Having elected to bat first, Collegiate reached 165-5 in their 40 overs, Adam Burkinshaw (40) and Thomas Currie (50) leading the way. Harry Graham (39) helped the home side recover from 67-4, but after he became Ben Fielding’s first victim at 134-5, the innings fell away and Fielding finahed with 4-29. Wickersley Old Village had a big win over Barnsley Woolley Miners 2nds after electing to bat first at Northfield Road. Vishvaraj Jadeja (67) and Johnny Younis (48 not out) top scored for the hosts as they reached 238-6 before Jake Rodgers took three quick wickets when Barnsley replied. Gunoor Singh (42) provided the principal resistance, but Mark Cummins polished off the tail with figures of 3.1-1-2-4 as the visitors were bowled out for 94. At School Lane, Darfield asked Conisbrough to bat first and there were three wickets each for Jake Marshall and Matt Lambert, whilst Danyaal Latif top-scored with 58 as the visitors posted 176-8. Buddhika Sanjeewa took 3-26 as the home side were dismissed for 114 in reply. Fifties from Joe Norbury and Danny Kemp gave Whiston Parish Church a solid platform at 142-1 at home to Upper Haugh after they had elected to bat first. Samuel Thompson then took 3-28 for the visitors as Whiston reached 203-8. R Khan made 92 in the visitors' reply, and put on 70 for the sixth wicket with Naveed Shah, but once they had been parted, the innings fell away and they were all out 167, with three wickets for Jack Moran. No play was possible at Rockingham Colliery, where Cawthorne advanced to the next round after beating the home side 2-0 in a bowl out. 
Wath had beaten Green Moor by nine wickets on the previous Sunday, whilst the games between Doncaster Town 2nds and Houghton Main, and Shiregreen and Rotherham Town, will be played on May 14 and May 29 respectively. 
The draw for the quarter finals, to be played on Sunday 11 June, is: 
Shiregreen or Rotherham Town v Wickersley Old Village 
Sheffield Collegiate 2nds v Wath 
Doncaster Town 2nds or Houghton Main v Whiston Parish Church 
Cawthorne v Conisbrough 
K3 Dental Cup 
In one of the two outstanding K3 Dental Cup first round games, Hallam beat Aston Hall by five runs at Crimicar. After deciding to bat first, forties from openers Nick Dymock and Christian Leddicoat, and an unbeaten 40 lower down the order from Harman Puni helped the home side to 191-9, whilst skipper Johannes Bothma was the pick of the visitors' bowling with 5-17. Aston Hall fell five short in their reply, despite 58 from Nathan Ward, whilst Joe Cooper took 3-28 for the winners. 
The updated second round draw, to be played on Sunday 4 June, is: 
Driffield Town v Wakefield Thornes 
Woodhouse Grange v Doncaster Town 
Castleford v Stamford Bridge or Treeton 
Whitley Hall v Clifton Alliance 
Appleby Frodingham v York 
Barnsley Woolley Miners v Harrogate 
Cleethorpes v Tickhill 
Sherriff Hutton Bridge v Hallam 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings