An excellent fourth-wicket partnership of 172 between Kieran Lindley and Jordan Cook rescued leaders Appleby Frodingham from 52-3 after they had elected to bat against Wakefield Thornes. Lindley’s 101 off 112 balls was his first senior hundred, and the pair’s partnership formed the major part of their side’s 234-7. Facing this testing target, an opening three-wicket burst from Matt Harris reduced Thornes to 32-3. Skipper James Wolfenden held the upper order together, before falling, sixth out, to Kieran Watson at 163. Imran Mahboob kept Thornes’ hopes alive before falling to Jordan Neil, and the last four wickets fell for 18 runs to give the Steelmen an invaluable win in their quest to retain their Premier Division title. 
Appleby Frodingham 234-7 (50) Kieran Lindley 101, Jordan Cook 72, Imran Mahboob 3-42 
Wakefield T 218 (48.3) James Wolfenden 85, Imran Mahboob 47, Matt Harris 4-36, Jordan Neil 3-37 
Appleby Frodingham (12pts) beat Wakefield Thornes (4) by 16 runs 
Jake Weatherald’s 67 off 50 balls got Barnsley Woolley Miners off to a positive start after they had elected to bat first against Sheffield Collegiate. But after he was third out at 98, the home side stuttered somewhat, and it was chiefly down to Ollie Jackson’s unbeaten 38 off 45 balls that the Griffins were able to give their bowlers something to bowl at. Robert Shaw and Jamie Carrington, who shared seven wickets between them, were the pick of the visitors’ attack. Rain revised Collegiate’s target to 141 off 34 overs, but Jackson followed up his batting exploits with the first four wickets to leave the visitors on 47-4. Things got no better for Collegiate – no-one scored more than 20 – and they fell 17 short of victory. 
Barnsley WM 179 (43.4) Jake Weatherald 67, Ollie Jackson 38*, Robert Shaw 3-29, Jamie Carrington 4-45 
Sheffield Coll 124-9 (34) Ollie Jackson 4-17 
Barnsley Woolley Miners (12pts) beat Sheffield Collegiate (2) by 16 runs (DLS method – par score at 34 overs 140) 
For the second week running, Elsecar put on an impressive batting performance, this time after electing to bat first against Cawthorne. Bilal Anjam (59 off 56 balls) and Kashif Naveed (44 off 37) provided an entertaining 70-run third-wicket stand, and a half-century from Tanzeel Ali gave the home side a formidable total in an innings shortened by two overs due to rain. Cawthorne’s target was adjusted to a testing 239 off 36 overs and they lost Liam Wiles with only 17 on the board. Moin Ashraf then took the key wicket of Taruwar Kohli, and Nick Lowe fell soon after to leave the visitors on 59-3. Archie Greaves then joined Michael Jepps, and these two added 85 for the fourth wicket. But once Greaves fell to Ashraf, the last seven wickets fell for 71 and Cawthorne fell 23 short of their target. The win sees Elsecar leapfrog their opponents out of the relegation zone. 
Elsecar 276-8 (48) Bilal Anjam 59, Kashif Naveed 44, Tanzeel Ali 59, Ahmed Matloob 3-68 
Cawthorne 215 (35.4) Michael Jepps 83, Archie Greaves 52, Joe Denby 3-65 
Elsecar (12pts) beat Cawthorne (4) by 23 runs (DLS method – par score at 36 overs 238) 
Second-placed Tickhill kept in touch with the leaders after Cleethorpes had elected to bat first at Alderson Drive. A patient half-century from opener Tom Keast held the early part of the visitors’ innings together, but from 101-4, James Stuart removed him, Ian Mansfield and Alex Osmond to leave the Meggies struggling on 125-7, Callum Carter’s unbeaten 37 off 25 balls gave them something to bowl at, as they rallied to 185-8. But despite Osmond removing Stuart and Dane Schadendorf in quick succession to leave the home side on 87-3, Tian Koekemoer saw his team home with a responsible unbeaten 60. 
Cleethorpes 185-8 (50) Tom Keast 54, Callum Carter 37*, James Stuart 3-45 
Tickhill 168-4 (32.4) James Stuart 42, Tian Koekemoer 60* 
Tickhill (12pts) beat Cleethorpes (0) by six wickets 
After Treeton had asked visitors Whiston Parish Church to bat first, and Andrew Tomlinson and Joe Norbury had added 131 for the first wicket at Washfield Lane, it did not look as if it would be the home side’s day. Five wickets then fell for the addition of 59, but Tom Bolland, with an unbeaten 46 off 28 balls, ensured that the advantage was not lost, and Whiston posted a formidable 264-7. The target was subsequently adjusted to 245 from 42 overs, but the home side did not start their reply in convincing fashion, and stumbled to 74-4. Sam Drury and Chris Cobb came together to add 69 for the fifth wicket, and after Drury had fallen to Harry Paver for 44 off 47 balls, Cobb added 48 with Ben Birtles. After Cobb was stumped off Joe Norbury for 57, Vinnie Ogden’s unbeaten 30 off 26 balls saw his side to their target with two wickets and eight balls to spare. 
Whiston PC 264-7 (50) Andrew Tomlinson 61, Joe Norbury 85, Tom Bolland 46*, Liam Johnson 3-59 
Treeton 247-8 (40.4) Viraj Bhosale 45, Sam Drury 44, Chris Cobb 54, Vinnie Ogden 30*, Kazim Hassan 3-29, Joe Norbury 3-86 
Treeton (12pts) beat Whiston Parish Church (4) by two wickets (DLS method – target 245 in 42 overs) 
The first Premier Section abandonment of the season occurred, in the eleventh round of games, at Baxter Field. After visitors Doncaster Town won the toss and asked Whitley Hall to bat, the home side struggled to 126-8 before rain ended play for the day. 
Whitley Hall 126-8 (38.1) Matt Godden 30*, Joe Gunn 3-38 
Doncaster T did not bat 
Whitley Hall and Doncaster Town – match abandoned (4pts each) 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings