Leaders Tickhill elected to bat first at Alderson Drive, when Wakefield Thornes came to visit for the top game of the day. After the home side had lost both openers with just one run on the board, Connor Fisher and Tian Koekemoer added 97 for the third wicket to put them in a strong position at 98-2. The later batsmen were unable to capitalise, however, and Joshua Hen-Boisen returned his best figures in the first team with 5-44. Facing a relatively modest target, Thornes never really got going, and with Josh Court taking four wickets, they slipped to 87-7. Matty Taylor and Jamie Howarth then added 49 for the eighth wicket, but both were dismissed by home skipper Alex Rowland, and Thornes fell agonisingly six runs short. Tickhill retain their four-point lead at the top of the table, whilst Thornes drop one place to fourth. 
Tickhill 177 (47.5) Tian Koekemoer 89, Connor Fisher 30, Joshua Hen-Boisen 5-44 
Wakefield T 171 (49.4) Matty Taylor 36, Jamie Howarth 38, Josh Court 4-31, Alex Rowland 3-37 
Tickhill (12pts) beat Wakefield Thornes (4) by six runs 
Doncaster Town won the toss against Appleby Frodingham at Brumby Hall, and followed the pattern in the division by electing to bat first. After they had lost their openers with just 33 on the board, Umar Amin and James Ward added 56 for third wicket, but Kieran Lindley then dismissed Amin, as he and Kieran Watson shared six wickets and reduced the visitors to 128-8. Ward, who had led by example with a solid half-century whilst wickets fell around him, was the last out as the visitors posted what looked like a below par 169. After losing both openers cheaply in their reply, the hosts were again indebted to Jordan Neil and Lindley, who added 88 for second wicket. They looked to be coasting to an easy win at 146-3, but then lost five wickets for 24 to Amin and James Keast, before scrambling home with just two wickets to spare. The Steelmen keep the pressure on Tickhill at the top of the table, as they bid to retain the Premier Division title. 
Doncaster T 169 (46.3) Umar Amin 37, James Ward 51, Kieran Watson 3-39, Kieran Lindley 3-41 
Appleby Frodingham 170-8 (44.4) Jordan Neil 85, Kieran Lindley 38, Umar Amin 3-31, James Keast 3-55 
Appleby Frodingham (12pts) beat Doncaster Town (4) by two wickets 
After electing to bat first against Sheffield Collegiate at Church Fields, Whiston Parish Church were soon 39-3. Skipper Danny Kemp and Aamir Jamal then added 127 for fourth wicket to put their side in a good position at 166-3, but unfortunately they were the only two home batsmen to reach double figures, and they lost their last seven wickets for 36 runs. In reply, Collegiate were another side to lose both openers early on, and they were 10-2 when Michael Goodchild and Ed McKenna came together. These two added 137 for the third wicket before Jamal dismissed Goodchild for a patient half-century. Collegiate then reached 172-3 before losing six wickets for 21 runs, and eventually got home with three wickets and two overs to spare. Collegiate move up to third, but Whiston’s position looks increasingly bleak. 
Whiston PC 202 (48.1) Danny Kemp 58, Aamir Jamal 89, Henry Eldred 3-36, Jamie Carrington 3-59 
Sheffield Coll 205-7 (48) Michael Goodchild 50, Ed McKenna 73, Aamir Jamal 3-64 
Sheffield Collegiate (12pts) beat Whiston Parish Church (2) by three wickets 
There was a run fest at Baxter Field, where Barnsley Woolley Miners took full advantage of winning the toss to rack up a formidable total against Whitley Hall. Jake Weatherald and Beck Frostick set the tone with a rapid opening stand of 124, before Frostick was run out. Weatherald went on to 111 off 66 balls – 86 in boundaries – before Ali Jahangir and Jason Booth came together to add 64 for fifth wicket. Ciaran Stenton then rubbed salt into Whitley’s wounds with an unbeaten 40 in 14 balls at the end. Any hopes of a remarkable victory had gone when the home side had lost their first four wickets for 71, but Tim Smith and Danial Rafiq then added 82 for the fifth wicket to take their side to 154-4. Five wickets then fell for 28, three to Jahangir, before Dan Waldron and Rehan Khan came together in a defiant last-wicket partnership of 78. It was Barnsley’s seventh win in eight, and they are now up to fifth place in the table. 
Barnsley WM 370-9 (50) Jake Weatherald 111, Beck Frostick 46, Ali Jahangir 50, Jason Booth 34, Owen Smith 31, Ciaran Stenton 40*, Biswick Kapala 3-94 
Whitley Hall 259 (43.4) Danial Rafiq 51, Tim Smith 50, Dan Waldron 61, Ali Jahangir 6-80 
Barnsley Woolley Miners (12pts) beat Whitley Hall (2) by 111 runs 
Following a familiar pattern on the day, Elsecar decided to bat first against Cleethorpes at the Al Murad and soon last both openers. Bilal Anjam and Kasheef Naveed then added 67 for the third wicket to take their side to 101-2. The last eight wickets then fell to Matthew Owen and Sameera Sadamal for just 33 runs, and Elsecar were all out inside 33 overs for a modest 144. The second innings was even shorter though, because after Bill Kirby had departed with the score on six, Tom Keast and Tom Rollinson knocked off the runs in an unbroken second wicket stand of 139 in the 22nd over. It was a much-needed win for the Meggies, whose last victory came at the end of May, but both sides are in a group of four, separated by only four points, scrapping to avoid the second relegation spot. 
Elsecar 144 (32.5) Bilal Anjam 54, Kasheef Naveed 45, Matthew Owen 4-24, Sameera Sadamal 4-32 
Cleethorpes 147-1 (21.5) Tom Keast 77*, Tom Rollinson 63* 
Cleethorpes (12pts) beat Elsecar (0) by nine wickets 
The other two sides in the four separated by four points between eight and eleventh in the table, are Treeton and Cawthorne. The two met at Washfield Lane where, having elected to bat first, the home side owed much to opener Dave Rodgers, whose 74 was comfortably the highest score of their innings. Rodgers departed at 168-6, one of five victims for Ahmed Matloob. Six other double-figure scores lifted the home side to a respectable 237, which looked even better after two wickets apiece for Vinnie Ogden and Charlie Bourne had reduced Cawthorne to 17-4 in their reply. Harvey Jones and Archie Greaves then added 76 for the fifth wicket, but after Jones was run out, and Greaves became one of Will Street’s four victims at 128-8, only Matloob offered late defiance as Treeton claimed a third successive win. 
Treeton 237 (50) Dave Rodgers 74, Taruwar Kohli 3-52, Ahmed Matloob 5-62 
Cawthorne 169 (37.4) Harvey Jones 36, Archie Greaves 64, Will Street 4-21 
Treeton (12pts) beat Cawthorne (2) by 68 runs 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings