Overnight leaders Tickhill failed to consolidate their lead at the top of the division in the first Premier Division game to be decided by DLS this season. The visitors may have rued their decision to ask Cawthorne to bat first at Dark Lane, when after Liam Wiles had fallen to Paddy Turner at 46, Michael Jepps and Taruwar Kohli added 173 for the second wicket – Kohli contributing 105 off 90 balls. Facing a daunting target, Tickhill reached 118-1 before Tian Koekeomoer was out, having added 94 for the second wicket with James Stuart. But when rain ended the contest early, the visitors had also lost both Stuart and Jordan Lowe, and were narrowly behind the DLS par score. 
Cawthorne 296-5 (50) Michael Jepps 96, Liam Wiles 34, Taruwar Kohli 105 
Tickhill 168-4 (32.4) James Stuart 56, Tian Koekemoer 30 
Cawthorne (12pts) beat Tickhill (4) by 13 runs (DLS method – target score at 32.4 overs 182) 
Appleby Frodingham leapfrogged Tickhill back into top spot with a comfortable win over Lincolnshire neighbours Cleethorpes at Chichester Road. After electing to bat first, the home side struggled to put a meaningful partnership together, and Kieran Lindley ran through the middle order with his best bowling figures of the season. From 116-8, Kieran Brooker helped the last two wickets add 47 to achieve some respectability. But a second wicket partnership of 93 between Alex Grimes and Jordan Neil put the visitors firmly in control, and after they were out, Lindley completed a fine all-round game by steering his side to victory with an unbeaten 47 in 39 balls. 
Cleethorpes 165 (49.5) Kieran Brooker 36*, Kieran Lindley 5-45 
Appleby Frodingham 166-4 (32.4) Alex Grimes 46, Jordan Neil 46, Kieran Lindley 47* 
Appleby Frodingham (12pts) beat Cleethorpes (0) by six wickets 
After winning the toss and batting first at Town Fields, Doncaster Town put themselves in a good position through a second wicket stand of 85 between Jadan Fell and Umar Amin. But after Amin had fallen to Waqas Tanveer at 86, the Barnsley Woolley Miners’ spin twins, Jackson and Jahangir, took control, and only skipper James Ward, with a patient 55, saw his side past the 200 mark. The target of 210 proved inadequate, however, as Jake Weatherald took control with an unbeaten 127 off 101 balls, sharing in an unbroken third wicket stand of 117 with Ali Jahangir that led the visitors to a comprehensive win. Barnsley are now within 16 points of their hosts in mid-table. 
Doncaster T 209 (49.4) Jaden Fell 66, Umar Amin 36, James Ward 55, Ollie Jackson 3-58, Ali Jahangir 4-49 
Barnsley WM 214-2 (38.2) Jake Weatherald 127*, Ali Jahangir 51* 
Barnsley Woolley Miners (12pts) beat Doncaster Town (0) by eight wickets 
Visitors Sheffield Collegiate decided to bat first against Treeton at Washfield Road, but Vinnie Ogden and Charlie Bourne soon had them in trouble at 46-4 with a couple of wickets each. George Bartlett and Dan Priestley set about repairing the damage with a fifth-wicket stand of 75, but after Bartlett had gone at 121, two wickets from Steve Foster saw Collegiate at 151-7. The visitors were then grateful for an unbeaten 35 off 28 balls from Jamie Carrington to take them to a respectable 211-9. In reply, the home side were in trouble from the start – a three-wicket burst from Robert Shaw reducing them to 9-4. Greg Norton showed some defiance with 50 from 45 balls, but it was not enough to stop Treeton slipping to their seventh defeat of the campaign – the same number as in the whole of last season. 
Sheffield Coll 211-9 (50) George Bartlett 46, Dan Priestley 43, Jamie Carrington 35*, Vinnie Ogden 3-62, Charlie Bourne 3-53 
Treeton 122 (25.1) Greg Norton 50, Robert Shaw 3-24, Jamie Carrington 3-32 
Sheffield Collegiate (12pts) beat Treeton (0) by 89 runs 
Wakefield Thornes kept pace with the leaders and dented the hopes of visitors Whitley Hall when they came out on top after batting first at Field Lane. Kieran Donnachie, Joe Billings and James Rhodes took the home side to 171-2 before Billings fell to Ben Tracey, and Matty Taylor and Matt Varley added valuable runs at the end to give their side an impressive total. After Taylor had removed the prolific pair of James Moorhouse and Neil Longhurst with just 17 on the board, Matt Cartwright and Ben Tracey took Whitley up to 82 before both fell to Imran Mahboob, after which only James Brown (60 off 38 balls) provided any real threat. Jawad Akhtar and Brad Green shared six wickets as Thornes registered their seventh win of the campaign. 
Wakefield T 261-6 (50) Kieran Donnachie 46, Joe Billings 63, James Rhodes 67, Matty Taylor 36, Dan Waldron 3-57 
Whitley Hall 227 (49.3) Matt Cartwright 50, Ben Tracey 33, James Brown 60, Matt Godden 34, Brad Green 3-73, Jawad Akhtar 3-70 
Wakefield Thornes (12pts) beat Whitley Hall (2) by 34 runs 
Visitors Elsecar clocked up a formidable first innings score after electing to bat first in the battle of the bottom two against Whiston Parish Church at Church Fields. Callum Higgins shared stands with Bilal Amjam and Kashif Naveed that took them to 126-2, but after he fell to Tom Bolland, the visitors lost three wickets for eleven runs. Naveed and skipper Peter Hadfield then came together in a stand of 117 for the sixth wicket that took the game away from the home side. A devastating opening burst from Moin Ashraf killed off any hopes Whiston might have had, as they slumped to 17-4. Joe Norbury provided the only real resistance with a determined 35, but Ashraf returned to complete his best figures of the season and give his side a resounding, and much needed win. 
Elsecar 335-8 (50) Callum Higgins 52, Bilal Anjam 44, Kashif Naveed 95, Peter Hadfield 86, Aamir Jamal 3-84 
Whiston PC 115 (27) Joe Norbury 35, Moin Ashraf 6-49 
Elsecar (12pts) beat Whiston Parish Church (0) by 220 runs 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings