Tickhill leapfrogged Appleby Frodingham to take over at the top of the Premier Division table for the first time. After Elsecar had won the toss and elected to bat at Alderson Drive, two wickets for Tian Koekemoer and two run outs helped the home side reduce their visitors to 86-6. Tanzeel Ali and Peter Hadfield then added 51 for the seventh wicket to give the visitors some respectability. After Josh Court had removed Hadfield, Joe Denby hit 31 off 30 balls at number nine, but Court dismissed him and Muhammad Ilyas with successive balls to bring the innings to an end at 187. The Tickhill innings was dominated by James Stuart, who hit 108 off 130 balls, and shared a 91-run third-wicket stand with Koekemoer, before both fell to Jack Shutt. But by then only six runs were required, and the home side got over the line with four overs and five wickets to spare. 
Elsecar 187 (49) Tanzeel Ali 36, Joe Denby 31, Josh Court 4-63 
Tickhill 191-5 (46) James Stuart 108, Tian Koekemoer 35 
Tickhill (12pts) beat Elsecar (0) by five wickets 
Appleby Frodingham won the toss and elected to bat first against Treeton at Brumby Hall. After the home side had lost three early wickets to Vinnie Ogden, Kieran Lindley and Jordan Cook started to pull things round for the Steelmen with a half-century fourth-wicket stand. Both fell to Liam Johnson, however, and he and Will Street mopped up the lower order. Facing a modest target, the visitors overcame the early loss of Steve Foster in some style, as Dave Rodgers and Johnson complied a century stand for the second wicket. Johnson in particular enjoyed an outstanding game, with four wickets and an unbeaten 55. Frodingham slip to second place, whilst Treeton move up one place to eighth. 
Appleby Frodingham 147 (45.1) Kieran Lindley 31, Jordan Cook 38, Vinnie Ogden 3-42, Liam Johnson 4-45, Will Street 3-47 
Treeton 151-2 (40.1) Dave Rodgers 73, Liam Johnson 55* 
Treeton (12pts) beat Appleby Frodingham (0) by eight wickets 
Whitley Hall lost ground on the leaders when they were comprehensively beaten by bottom side Whiston Parish Church at Baxter Field. After electing to bat first, the home side reached 51-0 before skipper James Moorhouse became the first of Alex Roebuck’s four wickets. Six wickets then fell for 12 runs, and it was mainly down to the efforts of Dan Waldron and Biswick Kapala, whose 45 came off just 34 balls, that the home side reached the comparative respectability of 176 all out. Roebuck finished with the remarkable figures of 8-4-9-4. When Whiston replied, Dan Waldron quickly claimed the wicket of Andrew Tomlinson, but Gareth Davis and Danny Kemp then added 124 for the second wicket. After Kemp was out, Aamir Jamal speedily ended proceedings with an unbeaten 45 off 17 balls, and the visitors recorded their third win of the season. 
Whitley Hall 176 (50) James Moorhouse 32, Dan Waldron 33, Biswick Kapala 45, Alex Roebuck 4-9, Joe Norbury 3-33 
Whiston PC 180-2 (36) Gareth Davis 43*, Danny Kemp 71, Aamir Jamal 45* 
Whiston Parish Church (12pts) beat Whitley Hall (0) by eight wickets 
Wakefield Thornes ended a three-game losing run with a comfortable success against Sheffield Collegiate at Field Lane. After the home side elected to bat first, skipper James Wolfenden recorded his first century for four years (104 off 144 balls). Wolfenden added 71 for the third wicket with James Rhodes and 82 for the fourth with Matty Taylor, as his side recorded an impressive 243-6. In their reply, the visitors lost both openers with just 18 on the board, but hauled themselves back into contention at 120-4 at the halfway point. But two wickets then fell in quick succession, no-one was able to stay with Sam Hunt, who recorded an unbeaten 73 off 76 balls, and they fell well short. Brad Green did much of the later damage with his first five-wicket haul of the season. 
Wakefield Thornes 243-6 (50) James Wolfenden 104, James Rhodes 32, Matty Taylor 32 
Sheffield Collegiate 182 (43.4) Ed McKenna 32, Sam Hunt 73*, Brad Green 5-34 
Wakefield Thornes (12pts) beat Sheffield Collegiate (2) by 61 runs 
Doncaster Town’s good run continues, and they recorded a very convincing win over Cleethorpes at Town Fields. The visitors’ decision to put Town in to bat first backfired, and a second-wicket stand of 135 between Jaden Fell (104 in 117 balls) and Umar Amin (128 in 122) put the home side in complete control. Kieran Brooker was the most successful bowler for Cleethorpes, but like the other three bowlers used, he conceded over five runs an over. After losing two early wickets, Bill Kirby and Sameera Sadamal raised the home side’s hopes with a stand of 66 for the third wicket, but James Dobson dismissed them both, and three wickets fell for 15. Joe Sands and Ian Mansfield took the score to 140-5, but the ask was too great, and when the overs ran out, Cleethorpes were well short. Doncaster, in fifth place, are now only 18 points adrift of the leaders. 
Doncaster Town 315-8 (50) Jaden Fell 104, Umar Amin 128, Kieran Brooker 5-77 
Cleethorpes 192-8 (50) Bill Kirby 33, Sameera Sadamal 40, Ian Mansfield 30, Joe Sands 34, Kieran Brooker 33* 
Doncaster Town (12pts) beat Cleethorpes (0) by 123 runs 
After electing to bat first, Barnsley Woolley Miners never really recovered from the loss of Jake Weatherald to the first ball of the game, and half their side were back in the pavilion with just 52 on the board – Josh Holling and Ben Cliff doing the damage for Cawthorne with two wickets apiece. Beck Frostick saw his side up to 92, after which William Nicholson took over, and his responsible unbeaten 56 off 80 balls, with help from Owen Smith, Ciaran Stenton and Matty Clegg, gave the Griffins something to bowl at. But when Cawthorne batted, although Ali Jahangir claimed a wicket in the second over, Liam Wiles and Taruwar Kohli added 96 for the second wicket. Four wickets then fell for 52, two more to Jahangir, but the home side could not make a further break-through. Kohli stood firm to record his second hundred of the season, an unbeaten 108 off 131 balls, with Cliff (27 not out) lending valuable support at the other end, and Cawthorne were home with five wickets and three overs to spare. 
Barnsley WM 211 (50) Beck Frostick 31, William Nicholson 56*, Josh Holling 3-42 
Cawthorne 215-5 (47) Liam Wiles 37, Taruwar Kohli 108*, Ali Jahangir 3-39 
Cawthorne (12pts) beat Barnsley Woolley Miners (0) by five wickets 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings