Nicholas Associates Premier division 
Barnsley Woolley Miners v Appleby Frodingham 
This was a second excellent win on the trot for Barnsley, this time over leaders Appleby Frodingham. Having elected to bat first, the home side’s innings followed a similar pattern to last week, with Harpreet holding the early order together as the first four wickets fell to the visitors’ seam bowlers, to leave the Griffins 26-4. After Harpreet was dismissed by Joe Baker at 137-6, acting skipper Beck Frostick again rose to the occasion with a fine half-century to take his side to a defensible total. Matt Fowler and Alex Grimes put on 35 for the visitors’ first wicket before Harpreet dismissed both him and Jamar Ifill in successive balls; Alex Grimes then falling to Ali Jehangir three runs later. A rain break brought DLS into play, and after Jay Smith had taken the first of his five wickets to dismiss Jordan Cook, Kieran Lindley and Matt Morland added 96 for the fifth wicket to put the visitors in the driving seat. But Smith returned to dismiss Morland, Ollie Jackson accounted for Lindley, and the last five wickets fell for just 12. Barnsley have consolidated their top-four place, whilst Appleby Frodingham’s lead over second-placed Sheffield Collegiate is just 12 points with four games to go, and with a game between the two to come, it is all to play for. 
Barnsley WM 199 (49.3) Harpreet Singh Bhatia 64, Beck Frostick 56, Matthew Harris 3-30 
Appleby Frodingham 173 (40.3) Kieran Lindley 69, Matt Morland 34, Harpreet Singh Bhatia 3-41, Jay Smith 5-46 
Barnsley Woolley Miners (12pts) beat Appleby Frodingham (4) by 15 runs (DLS target 189 in 42 overs) 
Elsecar v Whitley Hall 
Visitors Whitley Hall asked Elsecar to bat first, and the home side found it tough going against some accurate bowling. A third-wicket stand of 68 between Sam Shaw and Kashif Naveed took Elsecar to 111-2 before both were dismissed by Ben Webster. Hasnat Yousaf injected some acceleration with 30 in 36 balls before becoming one of three victims of Biswick Kapala. A mid-innings break due to rain saw tea taken early, and a second interruption, this time in the visitors’ innings, saw their target revised to 168 in 42 overs. Matt Cartwright and James Brown came together at 39, and had added 102 for the third wicket when the third and final stoppage occurred. No further play being possible, Whitley Hall were declared winners by five runs against the DLS target calculated for that point. Whitley Hall’s win narrows the gap between the two sides in mid-table to eight points. 
Elsecar 179-8 (50) Sam Shaw 35, Kashif Naveed 42, Hasnat Yousaf 30, Biswick Kapala 3-27, Ben Webster 3-47 
Whitley Hall 141-2 (37.4) Matt Cartwright 57*, James Brown 42* 
Whitley Hall (12pts) beat Elsecar (0) by five runs (DLS target at 37.4 overs was 136) 
Sheffield Collegiate v Doncaster Town 
Collegiate stormed into second place with a comprehensive victory over 2019 YSPL champions Doncaster. After asking the visitors to bat, Henry Eldred’s opening three wicket burst left Town at 15-4. Skipper Bilal Anjam was the only visiting batsman to make it into double figures, but when he was dismissed by 16-year old off-spinner Tate Miller for 14, the last six wickets fell for 16 runs. It was a remarkable Premier League debut for Miller, who finished with 4-11 in four overs. Luke Shutt, with an unbeaten 33 in 23 balls, helped his side make short work of their easy target. Collegiate jump into second place and, with their game against leaders Appleby Frodingham to come, the title race has opened up again. 
Doncaster T 43 (20) Henry Eldred 3-13, Tate Miller 4-11 
Sheffield C 47-1 (6.4) Luke Shutt 33* 
Sheffield Collegiate (12pts) beat Doncaster Town (0) by nine wickets 
Tickhill v Hallam 
A big win for Hallam keeps them in with a real chance of avoiding relegation. The fact that their chief rivals Cawthorne had an unexpected win at Treeton slightly tempered their delight, but the two meet at Dark Lane in three weeks in what could be a decider. Hallam asked Tickhill to bat first, and with three early wickets for Charlie Bourne and two for Joe Cooper, reduced them to 46-6. There was some resistance from Mustafa Hussain (26) and Adi Sreedharan (15), but once Jamie Stone broke their seventh-wicket partnership of 38, the last four wickets fell for 18 runs. The visitors were 47-3 before Robert Basu (23) and Jack Unwin (19*) added 34 for the fourth wicket, after which Unwin and Stone saw Hallam home with no further alarms. 
Tickhill 102 (34.5) Charlie Bourne 4-30 
Hallam 104-4 (23) 
Hallam (12pts) beat Tickhill (0) by six wickets 
Treeton v Cawthorne 
Treeton decided to bat first against struggling Cawthorne at Washfield Lane, and despite the fact that seven of their top eight batsmen reached double figures, only Steve Foster (24) and Liam Johnson made it to twenty. Ben Cliffe took three wickets on his return from Academy duty, whilst Liam Wiles took five of the last six in a season’s best performance. Wiles then completed an excellent all-round performance by leading his side to victory with a fine half-century, sharing in an opening stand of 90 with Michael Jepps. Cawthorne registered their first league win since 12 June, and remain two points ahead of Hallam in the fight to avoid relegation. Treeton drop to third, and are now 22 points behind the leaders. 
Treeton 157 (45.2) Liam Johnson 32, Ben Cliff 3-55, Liam Wiles 5-30 
Cawthorne 158-4 (42.3) Michael Jepps 37, Liam Wiles 56, Taruwar Kohli 33*, Vinnie Ogden 4-47 
Cawthorne (12pts) beat Treeton (0) by six wickets 
Wakefield Thornes v Wickersley Old Village 
Wickersley decided to bat first at Field Lane, but after twenties from Nathan Taylor and Jonny Younis had taken them to 64-2, only skipper Gartheth Purshouse, with an unbeaten 55 off 86 balls, was able to master a home side’s attack. Edward Fowles, Brad Green and Danyaal Ahmed each picked up a couple of wickets for the home side. Facing a modest target, James Wolfenden led the way with an unbeaten 66 in 84 balls, and shared an opening stand of 92 with Kieran Donnachie. Wickersley are now on the brink of relegation, whilst Thornes must settle for mid-table. 
Wickersley OV 128-7 (50) Gareth Purshouse 55* 
Wakefield T 129-1 (26) James Wolfenden 66*, Kieran Donnachie 39 
Wakefield Thornes (12pts) beat Wickersley Old Village (0) by nine wickets 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings