Nicholas Associates Premier division 
Appleby Frodingham v Sheffield Collegiate 
Appleby Frodingham became the first champions of the Yorkshire Cricket Southern Premier League, beating nearest challengers Sheffield Collegiate to ensure that they could not be caught at the top of the table. After the home side had put Collegiate in to bat, Joe Baker made early inroads with three wickets, including the dangerous Shaaiq Choudhry, to leave the visitors on 17-3. Jacob Waterson and Sam Hunt took the score up to 43 before both were dismissed by Kieran Lindley. After that, wickets fell regularly and number eleven batsman Robert Shaw was the only other Collegiate player to reach double figures. Frodingham reached their target with plenty of overs and wickets to spare, but not without casualties. Alex Grimes and Lindley both departed, victims of Choudhry, at 23, and the same bowler later dismissed Fowler and Jamar Ifill for twenties. Before Fowler was finally dismissed, he was given out caught, but in a remarkable act of sportsmanship, visiting skipper Josh Varley indicated that the catch had not carried, and withdrew the appeal. An unbeaten 29 from Jordan Cook saw the Steelmen home, with long-serving Matt Morland hitting the winning runs to seal the triumph. 
Sheffield C 94 (41.5) Joe Baker 3-17, Paul Hilton 3-19, Kieran Lindley 3-35 
Appleby Frodingham 95-4 (30) Shaaiq Choudhry 4-30 
Appleby Frodingham (12pts) beat Sheffield Collegiate (0) by six wickets 
Barnsley Woolley Miners v Wakefield Thornes 
After winning the toss, the home side elected to bat, but had little answer to the bowling of Matty Taylor and Daanyaal Ahmed. After Taylor had taken the first three wickets to reduce Barnsley to 35-3, wickets fell steadily. The target of 109 looked inadequate, and despite two wickets from Callum Bentley helping reduce the visitors to 36-3, a stand of 66 between Matt Jordan and James Rhodes (25) carried Thornes to a comprehensive win. Their third win in four games leapfrogs the visitors above Barnsley into fourth place. 
Barnsley WM 108 (46.2) Matty Taylor 5-24, Daanyaal Ahmed 4-20 
Wakefield Thornes 112-4 (36.2) Matt Jordan 46* 
Wakefield Thornes (12pts) beat  Barnsley Woolley Miners (0) by six wickets 
Doncaster Town v Cawthorne 
After being put in to bat by the home side, a 102-run third-wicket stand between Michael Jepps and Taruwar Kohli put the visitors in a strong position. Nick Lowe’s 46 off 39 balls then ensured that Cawthorne posted a daunting target, with only home skipper Bilal Anjam (4-53 in 15 overs) having a good day with the ball. Doncaster made a spirited reply, with a 90-run third-wicket stand between Bilal and James Ward taking them to 142-2. But they were always rather behind the clock, and despite Charlie Kaye’s 55 off 30 balls, fell just short of their target. The result means that both sides are now 12 points ahead of eleventh club Hallam, and with more bonus points, will go into their last games safe from relegation. 
Cawthorne 232-9 (50) Michael Jepps 75, Taruwar Kohli 56, Nick Lowe 46*, Bilal Anjam 4-53 
Doncaster T 213-6 (50) Bilal Anjam 56, James Ward 52, Charlie Kaye 55, Josh Holling 3-31 
Cawthorne (12pts) beat Doncaster Town (4) by 19 runs 
Hallam v Treeton 
Treeton won the toss and batted against a Hallam side that needed the win to stand any chance of avoiding relegation. Two early wickets from Charlie Bourne provided them with encouragement, and the visitors slipped to 66-4. Sam Drury and Archie Ogden then added 75 for the fifth wicket, but when Bourne returned to the attack, the last six wickets fell for 51 runs to leave Hallam with an achievable target. Alex Hughes and Romir Singh added 103 for the second wickets, and although three wickets then fell for the addition of eight runs. Former skipper Nick Dymock saw his side home with an unbeaten 28. Results elsewhere, however, meant that their efforts were in vain, and Hallam’s five-year Premier League tenure is at an end. 
Treeton 190 (46) Archie Ogden 50, Sam Drury 31, Charlie Bourne 5-36 
Hallam 191-5 (44.4) Alex Hughes 37, Robert Basu 60, Vinnie Ogden 4-72 
Hallam (12pts) beat Treeton (0) by five wickets 
Tickhill v Elsecar 
Tickhill decided to bat first at Alderson Drive, and after Moin Ashraf had dismissed Mark Cummins early on, Ross Diver and Joe Billings added 77 for the second wicket. It was the introduction of Oliver Blackburn into the attack that changed the game, and Tickhill then slumped from 101-2 to 160 all out. But in their reply, Elsecar never really got over the dismissal of skipper Peter Hadfield at the top of the order for a duck, and when Josh Court entered the attack, he took six out of seven wickets to fall, and the visitors went from 36-1 to 109-8. Joe Denby and Callum Higgins added 30 to give their side hope, but it was not to be, and Tickhill picked up their first win in five games to ensure they will finish in a safe mid-table position. 
Tickhill 160 (48.2) Ross Diver 47, Joe Billings 62, Moin Ashraf 4-34, Oliver Blackburn 5-37 
Elsecar 146 (39.1) Hasnat Yousaf 30, Josh Court 6-57 
Tickhill (12pts) beat Elsecar (4) by 14 runs 
Whitley Hall v Wickersley Old Village 
At Baxter Field, the home side decided to bat first and it was Matt Cartwright at the top of the order, with 76 off 122 balls, who held the innings together. However, the middle order struggled against David Mace, and no-one really got going at the other end until wicket-keeper Matt Godden came in at 167-6 and hit an unbeaten 39 off 25 balls, which took Whitley Hall to a match-winning total. Dan Waldron then decimated the visitors’ early order with four wickets, that reduced them to 17-4, and they never recovered. Whitley Hall remain in seventh place, whilst for relegated Wickersley it has been a season they will be glad to see the back of. 
Whitley Hall 243-7 (50) Matt Cartwright 76, Matt Godden 39*, David Mace 4-60 
Wickersley OV 109 (34.4) Dan Waldron 4-23, James Brown 3-29 
Whitley Hall (12pts) beat Wickersley Old Village (0) by 134 runs 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings