Viking Cricket Cup 
On Sunday, in the second round, Wakefield Thornes beat Driffield Town by two runs; Kieran Donnachie’s 69 leading Thornes to 220-8, before Jawad Akhtar and Joshua Hen-Boisen took three wickets each as the East Yorkshire side were restricted to 218-8. 
Three quarter-finals were also played, in which Jake Weatherald (74) and Ali Jahangir (56) were the main contributors to Barnsley Woolley Miners' 283-9 against York, before Beck Frostick (3-20) led his side to an excellent 102-run win. Our sides were less fortunate in the other two ties – Sheffield Collegiate managed only 180 in their game at Clifton Alliance, despite Shaaiq Choudhry’s unbeaten 109, and the York side squeezed home with two wickets and one ball to spare; whilst Elsecar succumbed to a 57-run DLS defeat against Sheriff Hutton Bridge after the North Yorkshire side had amassed 270-8 in their 40 overs and restricted their visitors to 160-8 in 28, despite an unbeaten half-century from Joe Denby. 
The outstanding quarter-final tie is Wakefield Thornes v Woodhouse Grange – date to be confirmed. 
The semi-finals are to be played on Sunday 7 August and are: 
Barnsley Woolley Miners v Clifton Alliance 
Wakefield Thornes/Woodhouse Grange v Sheriff Hutton Bridge 
ExtraCover Insurance Whitworth Cup 
The semi-finals are to be played this Sunday (13.30 starts) as follows: 
Hallam v Barnsley Woolley Miners 2ndfs 
Sprotbrough v Green Moor 
Mick Savage Trophy 
The semi-finals will be played on Sunday 17 July (13.30 start) and are: 
Norton Woodseats v Aston Hall 2nds 
Upper Haugh v Treeton 2nds 
President’s Trophy 
The semi-finals were played last Sunday. Oughtibridge War Memorial 2nds beat Stocksbridge at Waterside Gardens, with Richard Everitt’s 52 leading the home side to 174-9, before Adil Nasim took 5-49 as Stocksbridge fell three runs short; whilst Elsecar 2nds beat Worsbrough Bridge – Jason Meadows taking 3-16 as Worsbrough were restricted to 119-9, and Elsecar reached their target with five wickets and ten overs to spare. 
The final is at Cawthorne on Sunday 7 August (12noon start) 
Billy Oates Memorial Cup 
The semi-finals are scheduled to be played on Sunday 24 July (13.30 start): 
Thorpe Hesley & High Green 2nds v Whitley Hall 3rds 
Upper Haugh 3rds v Stocksbridge 2nds 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings