Viking Cricket Cup 
The outstanding quarter-final tie between Wakefield Thornes and Woodhouse Grange has now been confirmed for Sunday 31 July. 
The semi-finals, to be played on Sunday 7 August (12.30 start), are: 
Barnsley Woolley Miners v Clifton Alliance 
Wakefield Thornes/Woodhouse Grange v Sheriff Hutton Bridge 
ExtraCover Insurance Whitworth Cup 
Hallam and Sprotbrough have won through to the Whitworth Cup final, which will be played at Northfield Road, Wickersley Old Village CC, on Sunday 31 July (12 noon start). 
Last Sunday, at Melton Road, holders Sprotbrough had a comfortable 108-run win over Green Moor. Mark Elsworth, who finished with 4-42, took two early wickets to reduce the home side to 6-2 after they had elected to bat first, before Sadrian Ward (48) and Harry Graham (73) helped them reach 228-6. The last four wickets yielded only seven runs, but Sprotbroughs’ 235 was to prove more than enough to get them into the final again. Only Green Moor’s Callum Johnson (37) offered much resistance against ‘man-of-the-match’ Ward (4-29) and Dean Williamson (3-30), as wickets fell regularly to leave the visitors’ 127 all out. 
There was a tighter game at Crimicar, where Zak Jahangir (44) and Stevie Walters (71) added 98 for the third wicket to take the visitors to 118-2 after they had decided to bat first. A couple of wickets each from James Smedley and Robert Heyes then reduced the visitors to 166-7, but Boeta Beukes and Matthew Clayton contributed an unbroken eighth-wicket stand of 59 to take Barnsley to a competitive 225-7. At 68-3 in reply, the game could have gone either way, but Christian Leddicoat (77) and Joe Cooper (52 not out) then added 86 to put the home side in control. Cooper and William Coates then added an unbroken sixth-wicket stand of 59 to give their side a five-wicket win with two overs to spare. 
Mick Savage Trophy 
The semi-finals will be played this Sunday 17 July (13.30 start) and are: 
Norton Woodseats v Aston Hall 2nds 
Upper Haugh v Treeton 2nds 
President’s Trophy 
The final is between Elsecar 2nds and Oughtibridge War Memorial 2nds, and will be played at Cawthorne on Sunday 7 August (12noon start) 
Billy Oates Memorial Cup 
The semi-finals will be played on Sunday 24 July (13.30 start) and are: 
Thorpe Hesley & High Green 2nds v Whitley Hall 3rds 
Upper Haugh 3rds v Stocksbridge 2nds 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings