Congratulations to Appleby Frodingham and Rotherham Town on their cup successes this weekend! 
Appleby Frodingham CC won the inaugural YCSPL T20 Blast competition by beating Barnsley Woolley Miners in the final by seven wickets. Having been put in to bat, Barnsley owed a lot to skipper Beck Frostick, who followed up his semi-final 40 with 47 from 47 balls, for their total of 124-8; Joe Baker and Jordan Cook each took a couple of wickets for the Steelmen. In reply, Frodingham got off to a flier through skipper Matt Fowler (30 off 18 balls) and Jamar Ifill (36 off 21) who put on 50 for the first wicket. Alex Grimes and Kieran Lindley then saw their side over the line with unbeaten twenties, whilst Ollie Jackson was the pick of the Barnsley attack with 1-20 in his four overs. 
Earlier, Barnsley beat Elsecar in the first semi-final, by seven runs. Zak and Ali Jahangir both posted twenties to support Frostick's 40 off 30 balls at the top of the order, and the Griffins posted 126-5. Then young Lewis Lomax took 3-9 in three overs as Elsecar slipped to 63-6 in reply. Elsecar rallied with twenties from Oliver Blackburn and Callum Higgins, but the young Barnsley side held their nerve to triumph by seven runs. 
In the other semi-final, Appleby Frodingham batted first and were indebted to Jamar Ifill, whose 73 off 58 balls in their 121-8 effectively won the match for them. Alex Morris (32) and Taruwar Kohli (37) added 48 for the second wicket to give their side a platform, but the Steelmen backed up their bowlers with some excellent fielding and restricted Cawthorne to 111-4 for a ten-run victory. 
A decent crowd braved some rather unseasonal weather, and we thank Doncaster Town CC, for their excellent hosting of the day, and all the officials who as usual did their jobs quietly and efficiently. 
The final of the Mick Savage Memorial Trophy at Darfield on Sunday saw Rotherham Town record a 25-run victory over Sheffield Collegiate 3rds. Rotherham won the toss and elected to bat, and four of their top five scored between 26 and 35, but were unable to go on to play a major innings. Isaac Parkin, with 3-24 in eight overs, was the pick of the Collegiate attack, in which there were also three top-order wickets for Michael Goodchild. Rotherham's final total of 210-9 at least appeared to ensure that Collegiate's strong batting line-up would be tested in reply. Goodchild (30) and Robbie McKenna added 43 after Collegiate lost an early wicket, and McKenna (78) went on to anchor the innings. Collegiate were behind the run rate when skipper Adrian Meadows came in at 99-4, but he then hit 41 off 32 balls, adding 76 in partnership with McKenna, before both were dismissed by Salim Karim, whose 3-24 in eight overs swung the game Rotherham's way. With Tuffail Dar bowling an equally economical 1-21 in seven, Rotherham restricted Collegiate to 185-7 and picked up the trophy for the first time.  
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings