We congratulate Cawthorne on reaching the ECB Vitality T20 Plate Regional finals and Oughtibridge War Memorial 2nds on winning the President's Trophy! 
Oughtibridge War Memorial 2nds beat Wath 2nds by 34 runs to win the 2023 President’s Trophy at Penistone yesterday. In a low-scoring game, 28 from keeper Richard Everitt and 27 from Shahrukh Khan helped Oughtibridge to 117 all out, Kelham Bennett taking 4-20 for Wath. A fine all-round bowling performance, with five bowlers taking wickets, then saw Wath bowled out for 83, despite skipper Jonathan Plater’s 39 at the top of the order. 
The League would like to thank Penistone CC for their tremendous efforts in making the ground fit for the game, and for their first-class catering! 
In the Group 1 Area finals of the Vitality T20 Blast at Sandiacre Town, Barnsley Woolley Miners won their semi-final against Sleaford by three wickets, Jay Smith taking 3-14 as the Lincolnshire side were restricted to 85-6, then skipper Beck Frostick hit 53 off 39 balls as his side won with three wickets and seven balls to spare. 
In the final, Barnsley made 113-4 in their 15 overs, but 45 off 22 balls from Ben Trembling took the hosts to a six-wicket win in the 13th over. We wish Sandiacre the best of luck for the rest of the competition. 
In the Group 7 Area final of the Vitality T20 Plate, Cawthorne beat Worksop at Dark Lane by 42 runs. An unbeaten 99 off 58 balls from Luke Ogden helped the hosts to 173-4 in their 20 overs, and the visitors were then restricted to 101-8 in 16 overs, losing by 45 runs on DLS. We wish Cawthorne the very best of luck for the Group finals at Elsecar on Sunday 27 August. 
The league programme this weekend was again devastated by the weather, and only one game was played across all of our 11 divisions on Saturday. This was in Division 6 at the Beecroft Estates ground, where Mexborough Athletic bowled Brookhouse out for 31. James Beresford took 4-17, and was supported by three wickets each for Jordan Rouane and Hazrat Jabarkhail. Athletic then cantered to an eight-wicket win in the fourth over. 
The handful of rearranged games on Sunday fared better, however, and there were three games played. 
In Division 6, Whitley Hall 3rds had a seven-wicket win over Handsworth Junior SC 2nds at Oliver’s Mount. The hosts were 108 all out, Harry Taylor taking 4-19, before Elliot Ashton made 56 to see the visitors home with some ease. 
In Division 8, Rockingham Colliery 3rds made 135-8 against Monk Bretton 2nds at the Castle Ground, visiting skipper Stephen Bell making 49, whilst there were three wickets each for James Wainwright and Alfie Robinson. The hosts then reached their target with three overs and three wickets to spare – thanks chiefly to keeper Jenson Hayes’ 68, whilst Lewis Upton took 4-28. 
In Division 9 at the Al-Murad Stadium, Elsecar 3rds pipped Eden Grove Parklands 2nds by one wicket. The visitors made 140-8 thanks to an unbeaten 45 off 34 balls from Tom Daykin at number eight, whilst Freddie Rowbottom took 3-16 for the hosts. Keeper Matthew Jackson’s unbeaten 55 off 52 balls then saw his side home, despite Anthony Shenton’s 5-46. 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings