Our sincere congratulations to Barnsley Woolley Miners CC - 2022 YCSPL T20 Blast champions! 
In Sunday's final at the Al-Murad Stadium, the home of Elsecar CC, Barnsley beat Cleethorpes in the semi-final by four wickets, going on to beat Doncaster Town in the final by 43 runs. Doncaster had earlier beaten Cawthorne in their semi-final by 42 runs. 
In the first semi-final, George Fisher (55 off 20 balls) set Doncaster off at a cracking rate, before forties from James Keast and James Dobson took them to an impressive 228-7. Taruwar Kohli was the most successful Cawthorne bowler with 3-41 in his four overs; Archie Greaves the most economical (1-19 in four). In reply, skipper Liam Wiles (43 off 30 balls) kept his side in the game at the top of the order before being fifth out at 125; and Josh Holling hit 44 off 26 balls; but three wickets for Joel Gunn, a tight spell of two for 23 in four overs from James Dobson, and one wicket and two run outs by James Keast, took Doncaster through to the final.  
In the second semi, Cleethorpes took full advantage of the first powerplay, Sameera Sadamal hitting 37 off 17 balls as they raced past 50. But once Sadamal was out at 58, wickets started to fall regularly, and although his fellow opener Tom Keast carried on until being ninth out for 61, he lacked any sustained support against the Barnsley 'spin twins'. Ollie Jackson took 3-21 in his four overs and Ali Jahangir 3-31 in his four, and Cleethorpes were all out for 153 in the last over. After the first over loss of Sheryaar Ali to Sadamal in the Barnsley reply, Jake Weatherald (76 off 33 balls) and Oliver Bennett added 98 for the second wicket in quick time and the Griffins appeared to be coasting to victory with plenty to spare. But both fell to Sadamal for the addition of four runs, Matthew Owen took a couple of wickets, and at 135-6 there was a flutter of nerves. But with overs in hand, keeper Ciaran Stenton was able to steer his side home with no further alarms. 
Barnsley elected to bat first in the final, and again got off to a flyer with Weatherald (66 off 31 balls) to the fore, Bennett (22) helping him add 54 for the second wicket. But after James Keast dismissed Weatherald at 99, the Griffins somewhat lost their way against Keast (3-28 in four overs) and Warren Graca (2-16 in four) and rather limped to 148-9 in their 20 overs. Doncaster too got off to a good start, and with George Fisher (25 in 26 balls) going well they reached 54-1 and looked in control. But the pendulum swung at that point; Jay Smith claimed three quick wickets with the aid of excellent catches by Matty Clegg and Sheryaar Ali, and Barnsley were transformed into an irresistable force. The last nine wickets fell for the addition of 51 runs, Smith finished with four for 12 in three overs, and Ali Jahangir three for 20 in four. Skipper Beck Frostick had the last say, bowling Joel Gunn to give his side what, in the end, was a well-deserved win. 
In the awards ceremony, hosted by Head of Premier Section, Mark Beardshall, afterwards, League chairman David Ward rightly adjudged Jay Smith to be the man-of-the-match in the final, and the T20 trophy was presented by Beck Frostick by competition organiser and League stalwart Steve Ward. In his remarks, Mark Beardshall thanked the umpires and scorers, match manager Linzey Scothern, Steve Ward, both teams, and most of all, Andy Ivill and his colleagues at Elsecar CC, whose unstinting efforts in hosting made it a very special day. 
Jay Smith steps forward to receive his man-of-the-match award 
Beck Frostick receives the T20 trophy from Steve Ward  
as Mark Beardshall looks on 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings