Nicholas Associates Premier Division 
Appleby Frodingham v Treeton 
Leaders Appleby Frodingham’s long winning run finally ended when they were beaten at home by second-placed Treeton, in an enthralling encounter. Having elected to bat first, the visitors were 40-3 before Steve Foster was joined by Sam Drury in a fourth-wicket stand of 95, that ultimately proved decisive. When Drury was out, the last seven wickets fell for just 12 runs, with experienced seamer Paul Hilton doing most of the damage. Facing an achievable target, Frodingham lost both openers with just 13 on the board, but first Jordan Cook (12) and then Jamar Ifill (13) joined Kieran Lindley in repairing the damage and taking their side to 82-3. But after Ifill fell to Will Street, none of the following batsmen could reach double figures, and Lindley ran out of partners. Street and Liam Johnson wrapped the game up for Treeton as seven wickets fell for 45 runs. The Steelmen still lead the table by 18 points, but Treeton, and Collegiate two points further back in third, still have hope. 
Treeton 147 (40.5) Steve Foster 69, Sam Drury 39, Matthew Harris 3-14, Paul Hilton 4-34 
Appleby Frodingham 127 (40.3) Kieran Lindley 65*, Liam Johnson 3-32, Will Street 5-20 
Treeton (12pts) beat Appleby Frodingham (2) by 20 runs 
Cawthorne v Wakefield Thornes 
Neither side had been in great form before this game, but an opening four-wicket burst by Imran Mahboob reduced the home side to 18-5 and all but settled the issue inside the first hour. With Matty Taylor weighing in with four wickets for Thornes, who had elected to field first, Cawthorne never recovered. Facing such a modest target, Thornes still struggled against Josh Holling, but despite losing six wickets, they passed their target inside 12 overs. No batsman in the game scored more than 12 runs. Thornes are in a comfortable joint-fifth place, but Cawthorne, who have now lost five on the trot, are just 14 points above the relegation places. 
Cawthorne 60 (19.3) Matty Tylor 4-32, Imran Mahboob 5-9 
Wakefield T 61-6 (11.4) Josh Holling 4-34 
Wakefield Thornes (12pts) beat Cawthorne (2) by four wickets 
Doncaster Town v Tickhill 
Tickhill were put in to bat by the home side, and were 55-2 when Mark Cummins came in to join Ross Diver. The pair put on 101 for the third wicket in a stand that was to prove crucial. But after Cummins had become the first of Usama Mir’s six victims, only Adi Sreedharan (11) of the remaining batsmen reached double figures, and Diver carried his bat for an unbeaten 105 off 124 balls. With Bilal Anjam again leading by example, Doncaster reached 111-4, but then both Joe Gallagher (19) and Usama Mir (24) fell to youngster George Valentine, who finished with a career-best five-wicket haul, as the last six wickets fell for 20 runs. Tickhill’s confortable win saw them leapfrog their neighbours into seventh place. 
Tickhill 220 (49.3) Ross Diver 105*, Mark Cummins 44, Usana Mir 6-38 
Doncaster T 131 (38.1) Bilal Anjam 36, Royston Dias 3-43, George Valentine 5-32 
Tickhill (12pts) beat Doncaster Town (0) by 89 runs 
Hallam v Barnsley Woolley Miners 
Could it be that Hallam will repeat their great escape of 2019? This spirited performance against a top-four side takes them to 14 points adrift of safety with six games to go. Having been put into bat, Barnsley lost Jon Trower early on, but skipper Jason Booth was joined by Harpreet Singh Bhatia, and the pair had a half-century stand before Booth had to retire injured. Harpreet made 82 off 96 balls before being run out by Sam Davison, and useful contributions down the order took the Griffins to a very respectable score. But Davison (26) and Alex Hughes got Hallam off to a solid start; Hughes added 64 for the second wicket with Jack Snelling; and then Nick Dymock (54 off 49) and Jamie Stone (32 off 30) gave the innings the necessary acceleration. The home side passed their target with three wickets and eight balls to spare. Both sides end the game in the same positions as they started, but for Hallam at least, with more hope. 
Barnsley WM 237-7 (50) Harpreet Singh Bhatia 82 
Hallam 238-7 (48.4) Alex Hughes 57, Nick Dymock 54, Jamie Stone 32, Jay Smith 3-55 
Hallam (12pts) beat Barnsley Woolley Miners (2) by three wickets 
Whitley Hall v Sheffield Collegiate 
Whitley Hall won the toss, batted and got off to a fine start as Matt Cartwright and Alex Fletcher put on 74 for the first wicket at Baxter Field. James Brown then helped Cartwright add 61 for the third wicket to help the home side post a competitive 220-5 off their 50 overs. It looked even better when Dan Waldron and Biswick Kapala (2-55) reduced the visitors to 33-5, but then George Bartlett, with a season’s best 62, added 58 for the sixth wicket with Henry Eldred (24). Bartlett was then joined by Richard Kettleborough, who showed that if you’ve got it you don’t lose it, in a stand of 70 for the seventh wicket. Kettleborough and Stepphen Cantwell were out in quick succession and Collegiate still needed 34 with overs running out with just one wicket left, but an unbeaten 34 by number 11 Robert Shaw saw them home with two balls to spare, Shaw hitting a six to end the game when the scores were level. Collegiate retain an outside chance of the inaugural YCSPL title, whilst Whitley Hall in ninth are 28 points clear of the relegation zone. 
Whitley Hall 220-4 (50) Matt Cartwright 63, Alex Fletcher 49, James Brown 46* 
Sheffield C 226-9 (49.4) George Bartlett 62, Richard Kettleborough 41, Robert Shaw 34*, Dan Waldron 4-56 
Sheffield Collegiate (12pts) beat Whitley Hall (4) by one wicket 
Wickersley Old Village v Elsecar 
It is looking bleak now for Wickersley as their run of defeats continued in a game they looked on top of for most of the afternoon. Having been put in to bat, Ben Richardson and Jonny Younis added 83 for the second wicket, before Isaac Spencer-Jones helped Younis add 77 for the fourth. Younis was then out for 103 off 111 balls, but Spencer-Jones (59 off 63) ensured that his side would have a competitive total. It looked to be more than enough when the visitors were 93-6, but Kasheef Naveed was still there, and he added 88 for the seventh wicket with Moin Ashraf before being bowled by David Mace for 97 off 87 balls. Ashraf was run out by Iftikhar Afzal shortly afterwards, but, cometh the hour, cometh the man, and Joe Denby hit an unbeaten 40 off 25 balls to power his side home with just one wicket and three balls to spare. It is seven wins in nine games for Elsecar now, and they move up to joint-fifth. 
Wickersley OV 236-6 (50) Ben Richardson 39, Shahjahan Younis 103, Isaac Spencer-Jones 59, Moin Ashraf 3-47 
Elsecar 240-9 (49.3) Kashif Naveed 97, Joe Denby 40*, Jonathan Allan 4-43 
Elsecar (12pts) beat Wickersley Old Village (4) by one wicket 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings