Appleby Frodingham v Hallam 
The leaders maintained their 18-point cushion at the top of the table by beating Hallam at Brumby Hall. The visitors asked Frodingham to bat first, and although skipper Matt Fowler and Alex Grimes added 56 for the first wicket, the home side did not have things all their own way, and a mid-innings slump reduced them to 125-5. But Jordan Cook’s 57 off 74 balls took them to a respectable score. Hallam too started brightly, as Alex Hughes (25) and Romir Singh (28) added 52 for the first wicket, and they reached 88-1 before Fowler ran out the dangerous Robert Basu (25 off 29 balls). From then, evergreen Paul Hilton and the talented Kieran Lindley took over, and Hallam fell 29 short of a target revised due to a rain interruption. 
Appleby Frodingham 194-8 (50 overs) Matt Fowler 48, Alex Grimes 32, Jordan Cook 57, Charlie Bourne 3-46 
Hallam 125 (34.2) Paul Hilton 3-34, Kieran Lindley 5-40 
Appleby Frodingham (12pts) beat Hallam (2) by 29 runs (DLS target 155 in 38 overs) 
Cawthorne v Elsecar 
The former Yorkshire and Northamptonshire opening bowler Moin Ashraf has been an inspired signing by Elsecar, and at Dark Lane, after Elsecar had asked Cawthorne to bat, he took his fifth five-wicket haul of the season. But it was not all one-way traffic at first, as Michael Jepps and Adam Wiles added 45 for the first wicket, then after Moin had taken the prized wicket of Taruwar Kohli cheaply, Liam Wiles helped Jepps take the score to 114-2. But then Moin dismissed Jepps, the first of three wickets in four balls, and with the help of Kashif Naveed, blew the rest of the order away – the last eight wickets falling for just 16 runs. Only Sam Shaw (27) passed 20 in Elsecar’s reply, but with everyone chipping in, the visitors passed their revised target with seven balls and four wickets to spare, and consolidated their position in the top half of the table. 
Cawthorne 130 (39.2) Michael Jepps 40, Liam Wiles 43, Moin Ashraf 6-42, Kashif Naveed 3-31 
Elsecar 128-6 (34.5) 
Elsecar (12pts) beat Cawthorne (2) by four wickets (DLS target 124 from 36 overs) 
Doncaster Town v Barnsley Woolley Miners 
The visitors were put in to bat at Town Fields, and with Joe Gunn taking three wickets and Robert Heyes two, they were soon in serious trouble at 31-5. Harpreet and Stevie Walters (21) added 70 for the sixth wicket, but when Harpreet was out 23 runs later, the last four wickets fell for just six runs. Two wickets fell early in Doncaster’s reply, but then James Stuart and James Ward (24) added 62 to stabilise the innings, before Usama Mir, with an unbeaten 31 in 19 balls, joined Stuart and brought proceedings to a swift conclusion. Barnsley slip one place to fourth, whilst Doncaster are now three places behind them in seventh. 
Barnsley WM 130 (42.4) Harpreet Singh Bhatia 69, Joel Gunn 3-28 
Doncaster T 133-3 (38.2) James Stuart 69*, Usama Mir 31* 
Doncaster Town (12pts) beat Barnsley Woolley Miners (0) by seven wickets 
Treeton v Wakefield Thornes 
It was a good toss to lose for Sam Drury, as visiting skipper James Wolfenden elected to bat first and saw his side slip to 66-5, with three wickets for the old campaigner Steve Foster. Greg Wadsworth was run out for 19 when his embryonic sixth-wicket partnership with Matty Taylor looked as if it might pull the innings round, and that proved the catalyst for a collapse. The last five Thornes’ wickets fell for just 14 runs; three to Will Street, whose 4-20 was his season’s best. Treeton were never really troubled as Foster led their reply, and when the winning runs were struck, Chris Cobb was there at end for the third week running. Treeton remain 18 points behind the leaders, and the two meet at Brumby Hall in a fortnight. 
Wakefield T 105 (34.1) Steve Foster 3-37, Will Street 4-20 
Treeton 106-2 (26) Steve Foster 32 
Treeton (12pts) beat Wakefield Thornes (0) by eight wickets 
Whitley Hall v Tickhill 
Tickhill were put in to bat at Baxter Field, and after Ross Diver (20) helped Matthew Lowe to add 43 for the first wicket, scored steadily to set a respectable target in an innings reduced to 46 overs by rain. It was certainly too much for the home side, and after a third-wicket stand of 70 between Matt Cartwright (25) and Greig Batty, there was a collapse against Alex Rowland and Adi Sreedharan, who took a remarkable season’s best 5-8, and his side swept to a comprehensive win. The last eight wickets fell for just 16 runs, and Tickhill leapfrogged Whitley Hall in the table; they are now two points ahead of them in eighth place. 
Whitley Hall 194-3 (46) Matthew Lowe 40, Joe Billings 56, Mark Cummins 38* 
Tickhill 107 (31) Greig Batty 39, Alex Rowland 3-24, Adithya Sreedharan 5-8 
Tickhill (12pts) beat Whitley Hall (0) by 87 runs 
Wickersley Old Village v Sheffield Collegiate 
The visitors elected to bat first at Northfield Road and proceeded to set a formidable target. Their innings was built around Sam Hunt’s 104 off 95 balls, his season’s best so far. He came in at 60-2, after Iftikhar Afzal had taken the first two wickets, and when he became the experienced campaigner’s third victim, there were 229 runs on the board. Wickersley never threatened to reach their target, and slipped to a ninth successive defeat at the bottom of the table – whilst Collegiate move back up to fourth, 12 points behind second-placed Treeton. 
Wickersley OV 139 (45.4) Shahjahan Younis 31, Jamie Carrington 3-32 
Sheffield C 263-8 (50) Luke Shutt 32, Sam Hunt 104, Henry Eldred 39*, Iftikhar Afzal 3-62, David Mace 3-75 
Sheffield Collegiate (12pts) beat Wickersley Old Village (0) by 124 runs 
This content will only be shown when viewing the full post. Click on this text to edit it. 
Share this post:

Leave a comment: 

Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings