Welcome to our first weekly bulletin – a round-up of all information that we need to pass on to our clubs in a single document. The bulletin will normally be issued to club chairmen and secretaries, and then posted on the League website. 
One of the anticipated benefits of merging the YSPL and SYSCL was to streamline our communications. A small working group has considered this issue, and recommended the introduction of this bulletin as a single vehicle to contain all the information we need to circulate to clubs. 
We have also asked clubs to look critically who needs to be a Play-Cricket administrator, to reduce unnecessary automatically-generated P-C emails. For more information, please contact Melvyn Bond. 
On a trial basis, we will be using Play-Cricket as our primary email channel, in order to better target our communications to those who need them. 
To enable easy access to league tables, we have also introduced a ‘one-click’ link to a tables page from the home page on our main website; and also a results page, split into divisions. 
A weekly results round-up is being published under League news for the Premier and Championship divisions, and arrangements are currently being made to produce similar round-ups for the Senior Section divisions. 
T20 competition arrangements. Due to the strong possibility that there will still be some Covid restrictions in place later in the summer, for example, around numbers of participants and changing rooms, we have agreed a temporary format for the competitions this season. This will mean that there will be no more than two games on any ground on the same day, as opposed to the normal three. The arrangements for these competitions are: 
T20 Blast – each club will play two games on two match-days. Six clubs will play at home and six away on each day. The away sides will travel after the first game to play the second, to a ground as close as practically possible. All points earned in these games will be recorded in a composite league table and the top four clubs will play off on an August Bank Holiday finals day. The top club after the two match-days will represent the league in the national t20 competition. 
T20 Plate – The 18 clubs that have entered will participate in the Qualifying stage – in groups of three at six grounds. The winner of the first game in each group will then play the third team to determine the group winner. The six winners will go forward to the Group stage where they will be joined by the remaining six Championship clubs and will play in groups of three on four grounds using the same format. The stage at which clubs enter the competition is decided on a seeding basis. The four group winners will play off on a finals day. 
Please see the full revised T20 fixtures
YCB round-up. We have received the following from YCB in the last week: 
Female only coaching courses at Thorpe Hesley & High Green CC – four evening modules 22 June- 13 July 
A poster about YCB affiliation benefits and a letter about complimentary YCCC tickets in 2021 
‘Shining the Light’ – a new blog about womens & girls cricket from Katie Stewart at the YCB 
Fundraising for the Yorkshire Disability Squad – disabled cricketer Alex Jarvis is doing a 60-mile sponsored cycle ride – please support him at his Crowdfunding page 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings