Nicholas Associates Premier division 
Appleby Frodingham v Elsecar 
The Steelmen celebrated their return to Premier League cricket with a 54-run win over Elsecar in the first league meeting between the sides. After electing to bat first at Brumby Hall, a 105-run third wicket partnership between Alex Grimes and Kieran Lindley was the foundation of the home side's innings. Barbadian signing Jamir Ifill then provided attacking impetus with 37 off 22 balls in his first innings for the club, and helped them post a challenging score. Elsecar’s debutant former Yorkshire CCC seamer Moin Ashraf was the pick of the visitors' attack. An early three-wicket burst by another debutant, Joe Baker, soon had Elsecar in trouble at 38-3 and, although they never threatened the home side’s total, the experienced Ian Swallow steadied the innings before becoming Baker’s fourth wicket, and the latter completed a fine debut with a five-wicket haul. 
Appleby Frodingham 224-7 (50 overs) Alex Grimes 62, Kieran Lindley 59, Jamir Ifill 37, Moin Ashraf 5-71 
Elsecar 170 (48) Ian Swallow 35, Joe Baker 5-36 
Appleby Frodingham (12pts) beat Elsecar (2) by 54 runs 
Cawthorne v Barnsley Woolley Miners 
After Cawthorne were put in to bat at Dark Lane in this derby fixture, Michael Jepps and Adam Wiles put on 54 for the first wicket before both were dismissed by Ollie Jackson. After missing the 2020 season due to the pandemic, Harpreet Singh Bhatia announced his return to the club with three wickets in quick succession after Cawthorne had reached a promising 110-3. With Jackson taking two more wickets, Cawthorne then lost their last four wickets for three runs. Experienced openers Jon Trower and Jason Booth put on 44 for Barnsley’s first wicket, but after both departed for the addition of one run, Harpreet and Boeta Beukes came together in a match-winning stand of 83, to give their side a fine start to the season. 
Cawthorne 155 (46.4) Adam Wiles 31, Taruwar Kohli 38, Harpreet Singh 3-40, Ollie Jackson 4-33, Ali Jahangir 3-32 
Barnsley WM 156-3 (28.5) Harpreet Singh 43, Boeta Beukes 41* 
Barnsley Woolley Miners (12pts) beat Cawthorn (0) by seven wickets 
Wakefield Thornes v Sheffield Collegiate 
Thornes won the toss and elected to bat at Field Lane, in what is invariably a hard-fought fixture. South African professional Byron Boshoff made an impressive start to his Thornes career with 65 off 54 balls, whilst the rest of his side’s early order struggled against the Collegiate attack. Greg Wadsworth provided some lower order impetus, but after he fell to Shaaiq Choudhry for 26, Jamie Carrington mopped up the tail, and the last four Thornes wickets fell for nine runs. Chasing a comparatively modest target, Dan Priestley and Sam Hunt put on 66 for the first wicket, and at 129-4, with Priestley well set and Henry Eldred providing good support, Collegiate were in the driving seat. But Matt Taylor had Eldred caught behind and Brad Green claimed four cheap scalps as Collegiate lost their last six wickets for 15 runs and fell 17 short. 
Wakefield Thornes 161 (38) Byron Boshoff 65, Jamie Carrington 4-15 
Sheffield Collegiate 144 (36.3) Dan Priestley 54, Sam Hunt 37, Kamran Hussain 3-33, Brad Green 4-6 
Wakefield Thornes (12pts) beat Sheffield Collegiate (2) by 17 runs 
Whitley Hall v Doncaster Town 
Having elected to bat first at Baxter Field, the home side, missing James Moorhouse and Neil Longhurst, found run-scoring difficult after Matt Cartwright and Alex Fletcher had put on 42 for the first wicket. But Grieg Batty, returning to league action after a long period of injury, and James Brown helped them reach a defendable target against some tight bowling. Doncaster debutant Usama Mir was the pick of the attack with four wickets in 15 overs of leg-spin. After losing James Stuart in the first over of their reply, the visitors made a slow start before Ben Webster took two wickets at the start of his spell to reduce them to 24-4. After that there was only really going to be one winner, despite an entertaining 31 off 17 balls from Usama, and the 2020 Jack Bland Trophy winners got their campaign off to a fine start against the 2019 YSPL champions. 
Whitley Hall 175 (49.1) Greig Batty 32, James Brown 36, Usama Mir 4-48 
Doncaster Town 144 (45.4) Usama Mir 31, Biswick Kapala 3-31, Ben Webster 3-24 
Whitley Hall (12pts) beat Doncaster Town (2) by 31 runs 
Treeton v Tickhill 
The visitors elected to bat after winning the toss at Washfield Road, and got off to a good start with Mark Cummins and Ross Diver putting on 60 for the first wicket. But it was Sussex batsman Joe Billings, who came in at 92-2, who ensured that Tickhill reached a competitive score. His 80, scored out of the 102 runs added whilst he was at the crease, came off just 54 balls. On his debut for Treeton, Dave Rodgers put on 59 for the first wicket with Steve Foster, who then added 66 for the second with Liam Johnson. Another debutant, Indian batsman Viraj Bhosale, then added a further 51 with Johnson, who saw his side home with an unbeaten 73 off 90 balls. 
Tickhill 229-5 (50) Mark Cummins 32, Ross Diver 42, Joe Billings 80 
Treeton 232-4 (47.2) Dave Rodgers 34, Steve Foster 60, Liam Johnson 73* 
Treeton (12pts) beat Tickhill (0) by six wickets 
Wickersley Old Village v Hallam 
At the Burrows Oval, visitors Hallam won the toss and elected to bat. After losing Nick Dymock with just 10 on the board, Alex Hughes and Jack Unwin put on 89 to give the innings a sound foundation. But a fine six-wicket spell by David Mace tore the heart out of the Hallam middle order, and wickets fell regularly. Facing a moderate target, Matthew Burton tried to get his side off to a positive start with 36 in 27 balls, but after Nick Cooper had dismissed both him and new signing Shanaal Nathan, the home side were 81-4 and the game could have gone either way. But Liam Heathcote (53 off 60 balls) joined skipper Gareth Purshouse, and the pair saw their side to a comfortable with an unbroken fifth wicket stand of 106. 
Hallam 185 (47) Alex Hughes 59, David Mace 6-46 
Wickersley OV 187-4 (37.3) Matthew Burton 36, Gareth Purshouse 51*, Liam Heathcote 53* 
Wickersley Old Village (12pts) beat Hallam (0) by six wickets 
Round-ups from the Championship and Senior Section will follow 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings