Nicholas Associates Premier division 
The six captains who won the toss all elected to take advantage of excellent batting conditions and in all but one game were rewarded with victory. Appleby Frodingham, Barnsley Woolley Miners and Wakefield Thornes retained their unbeaten records to become the leaders in the early table. There were outstanding all-round performances from Tickhill’s Mark Cummins (71 & 5-35) and Harpreet Singh Bhatia (63 & 5-51); an excellent bowling analysis of 15-8-19-6 by Cawthorne’s Aaron Feroz; and the first two centuries of the season in the division by Josh de Caires and Taruwar Kohli. 
Barnsley Woolley Miners v Doncaster Town 
In the match-of-the-day at Shaw Lane, Barnsley overcame the early dismissal of Jon Trower, as Jason Booth and Harpreet Singh added 83 for second wicket. Blial Anjam claimed the key wicket of Harpreet at 127-4, sparking the loss of three wickets for seven runs. Ali Jahangir and wicket-keeper Ciaran Stenton added valuable runs to set the visitors a testing target; Usama Mir’s leg-spin earning him a five-wicket haul. James Stuart held the early part of the order together for the visitors, before Harpreet turned destroyer with a four-wicket burst that saw the visitors slump from 81-2 to 87-6. When Stuart was dismissed by Ali Jahangir at 132-8, Stuart Guy’s half century at least ensured the 2019 champions four bonus points. 
Barnsley WM 192 (49.2 overs) Harpreet Singh 63, Ali Jahangir 35, Usama Mir 5-65, Bilal Anjam 3-46 
Doncaster Town 173 (45.1) James Stuart 65, Stuart Guy 50, Harpreet Singh 5-51 
Barnsley Woolley Miners (12pts) beat Doncaster (4) by 19 runs 
Elsecar v Cawthorne 
Aaron Feroz took the first six Elsecar wickets to reduce the home side to 71-6 in a remarkable spell at the Al Murad stadium. Moin Ashraf then rescued Elsecar from complete disaster with 41 off 48 balls. Cawthorne overcame the loss of Adam Wiles with just four runs on the board, as Michael Jepps and Taruwar Kohli made light of the target with an unbroken stand of 156; Taruwar’s 110 coming off 96 balls. 
Elsecar 156-8 (50) Moin Ashraf 41, Aaron Feroz 6-19 
Cawthorne 160-1 (35) Michael Jepps 37*, Taruwar Kohl 110* 
Cawthorne (12pts) beat Elsecar (0) by nine wickets 
Hallam v Appleby Frodingham 
At Crimicar Lane, visiting skipper Matt Fowler and Alex Grimes got their side off to a great start with an opening stand of 111 inside 23 overs. Grimes then put on 76 in 12 overs with Jordan Cook for the second wicket, whilst Hallam skipper James Smedley, with a four-wicket haul, was the pick of the home attack. Facing a formidable target against a varied attack, Hallam were unable to put together the substantial partnership they needed. Only when Nick Cooper and Robert Basu put on 71 for the eighth wicket did they manage a half-century stand. 
Appleby Frodingham 291-7 (50) Matt Fowler 68, Alex Grimes 92, Kieran Lindley 34, James Smedley 4-58 
Hallam 217-8 (50) Jamie Stone 31, Robert Basu 45*, Nick Cooper 36, Joe Baker 3-48 
Appleby Frodingham (12pts) beat Hallam (2) by 74 runs 
Sheffield Collegiate v Wickersley Old Village 
After the loss of Dan Priestley in the first over at Abbeydale, Sam Hunt and Jacob Waterson put on 96 for the home side’s second wicket. After both were dismissed by Connor Snelgrove, Shaaiq Choudhry held the rest of the innings together, putting on 66 for the sixth wicket with Henry Eldred (47 off 29 balls). Matthew Burton and Nathan Taylor put on 35 for the visitors’ first wicket, but after that, wickets fell regularly, and Jamie Carrington quickly mopped up the tail with four cheap wickets. 
Sheffield Collegiate 247-6 (50) Sam Hunt 58, Jacob Waterson 30, Shaaiq Choudhry 62*, Henry Eldred 47, Connor Snelgrove 4-84 
Wickersley Old Village 96 (35.4) Jamie Carrington 4-8 
Sheffield Collegiate (12pts) beat Wickersley Old Village (0) by 151 runs 
Tickhill v Whitley Hall 
After the early dismissal of Ross Diver, Mark Cummins and Josh de Caires added 154 for the home side’s second wicket in 31 overs at Alderson Drive. de Caires carried on in great style to record the first YCSPL Premier Division hundred with 124 in 116 balls. James Brown was the visitors’ most successful bowler with a five-wicket haul. Chasing a daunting target, Matt Cartwright and Alex Fletcher started brightly with a stand of 70 for Whitley Hall, but after Cummins had dismissed both, only Neil Longhurst provided prolonged resistance. Cummins accounted for four of the visitors’ top five on his way to a five-wicket haul. When Longhurst was out at 187-8, two bonus points had been assured, and there remained only a late flurry from the last pair to delay the inevitable. 
Tickhill 260-8 (50) Mark Cummins 71, Josh de Caires 124, James Brown 5-78 
Whitley Hall 215 (48.3) Alex Fletcher 47, Neil Lnoghurst 57, Mark Cummins 5-35 
Tickhill (12pts) beat Whitley Hall (2) by 45 runs 
Wakefield Thornes v Treeton 
After skipper James Wolfenden and Byron Boshoff put on 70 for the home side’s first wicket at Field Lane, the innings faltered to 119-5. Faisal Irfan and Greg Wadsworth (62 in 49 balls) then added exactly 100 for sixth wicket and wicket-keeper Tom Froggett weighed in with 24 off 16 balls to see his side to an impressive score. When Treeton batted, despite a typical half-century from the old campaigner Steve Foster, they lost wickets too regularly until Archie Ogden and Chris Cobb added 85 for the sixth wicket. After Matty Taylor had dismissed Ogden, the rest of the innings folded quickly, with Taylor completing an impressive six-wicket spell for Thornes. 
Wakefield Thornes 262-8 (50) James Wolfenden 34, Byron Boshoff 36, Faisal Irfan 31, Greg Wadsworth 62, Steve Foster 3-43, Liam Johnson 3-61 
Treeton 223 (40.4) Steve Foster 61, Archie Ogden 51, Chris Cobb 36, Matty Taylor 6-35 
Wakefield Thornes (12pts) beat Treeton (2) by 39 runs 
Next Saturday's fixtures 
Appleby Frodingham v Wakefield Thornes 
Cawthorne v Sheffield Collegiate 
Doncaster Town v Hallam 
Treeton v Elsecar 
Whitley Hall v Barnsley Woolley Miners 
Wickersley Old Village v Tickhill 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings