Here is this week’s round-up of information for YCSPL clubs. 
Alert about possible scams. We have been made aware of emails that have been sent to one of our suppliers that appear to be from the League Treasurer, Ashley Boothman. The scammers have used the League logo as well as copying text from the treasurers’ auto signature. The tell-tale sign in this occurrence is that the email address that the scammers have used is not correct - they have missed an ‘e’ between Ashley and Boothman in the address. The change is really subtle, so it is important that we all, especially club treasurers, remain vigilant to such methods. If in doubt, call a league official to check whether any requests for money are official or not. If you spot any scam emails you should log them on the Police Action Fraud website. You can also report to Action Fraud by calling 0300 123 2040 Monday to Friday 8am - 8pm. Do not reply to any email if in doubt about its genuinity. 
Cup update 
Mick Savage Trophy. The final, between Rotherham Town and Sheffield Collegiate 3rds, will take place at Darfield CC this Sunday, 29 August, at 12 noon. All are welcome! 
The Presidents Trophy. Congratulations to Penistone CC, who won a thrilling final at Upper Haugh last Sunday. Electing to bat first, Penistone made 143-9 in their 40 overs, with Christopher Walmsley top-scoring with 33 and Connor Smythe contributing 30, whilst William Chapman was the pick of the Barnsley attack with 3-34. In reply, the Woolley side were bowled out just one run short of the target. The innings was dominated by two outstanding performances – Matt Scholey, who took 4-16 for the winners, and Owen Smith, whose gallant unbeaten 47 took his side so close. 
Viking Cricket Yorkshire Leagues KO Cup. In the second semi-final, held last Sunday, Appleby Frodingham beat Wakefield Thornes in a game reduced to 37 overs per side. Batting first, Thornes reached 110-9, with Matty Taylor unbeaten on 38 and three wickets each for Joe Baker and Paul Hilton. Appleby Frodingham reached their target in the 23rd over for the loss of two wickets, skipper Matt Fowler leading the way with 64. Appleby Frodingham now meet Driffield in the final on Sunday 5 September, at Woodhouse Grange CC. 
YSCPL t20 Blast finals day. The finals day will be held at Town Fields, Doncaster this coming Monday, 30 August. The first semi-final, between Barnsley Woolley Miners and Elsecar, will start at 10.00, followed by the second, between Appleby Frodingham and Cawthorne, at approximately 13.00. The final, between the winners of the two games, will start at approximately 16.00. 
Equity & Diversity survey. This is a final reminder to anyone who has not yet completed the survey and who wishes to do so – the deadline for completion has been extended to Monday 6 September. 
Insurance. All clubs are reminded of the need to have third party public liability insurance – especially where they hire or rent out their grounds. YCSPL sponsors ExtraCover Insurance will be pleased to quote. 
Promotion and relegation. As we near the end of the season, we have received several enquiries on this subject. The relevant rules are reproduced below: 
Where, for any reason, a team in a promotion position will not take their place in the higher division, they will only be replaced by the next-placed team where that team is no more than 12 (Championship) or nine (Senior Section) points of the team in the second promotion position (admin rule 44.ii) 
Where a team from a club qualifies for promotion into a division in which that club already has a team, no promotion will take place, and, at the discretion of the Senior Section cricket committee, the next eligible team in the lower division may be promoted instead. Where a team from a club is to be relegated into a division in which that club already has a team, the team in the lower division will also be relegated, and, at the discretion of the Senior Section cricket committee, may be replaced by the next eligible team from that division. This process will be repeated in the club also has a team in the lower division into which any of their teams is to be relegated, except where the lower team in in the bottom division, when neither team will be relegated (admin rule 
Position of teams in the league table. Where two or more teams have the same number of points in the league table, they will be differentiated by the first of the following criteria that separates them: 
the team with the most wins 
the team with the most bonus points 
the team with the most points in the games between them 
in the Premier Section only, the team with the most ‘four point’ bonus points (composite playing condition 18) 
If two or more teams finish on level points and cannot be separated by use of the criteria above, they will be deemed to be joint champions. Otherwise, where it is necessary to separate teams in the table that have finished on an equal number of points, e.g, to decide qualification for the White Rose Championship play-offs or to decide promotion or relegation issues, they will be separated by the first of the following methods that can be arranged in the time available: 
Note that De La Salle have withdrawn their application for 2022. The impact of this is that one team less will be relegated from Division 5 down; the league tables now show the correct promotion and relegation positions. 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings