A new name will be engraved on the Whitworth Cup this year, as Shiregreen claimed a deserved win over Sheffield Collegiate 2nds in yesterday’s final at Tickhill CC. 
In a game played in an excellent spirit, both sides made steady starts to their innings, and the difference between the two boiled down to the way that Shiregreen were able to accelerate in the later stages of theirs. 
Shiregreen chose to bat first, and at 79-4, their innings could have gone either way, but skipper Aslam Hayat (63 not out off 61 balls) first steadied the ship and then joined with keeper Bilal Afzal (41 not out off 21) in a hard-hit unbroken 68-run seventh-wicket stand that enabled them to post a competitive 219-6 in their 40 overs. Tate Miller (3-31 in eight overs) was the pick of the Collegiate attack. 
George Bartlett and Adam Burkinshaw gave Collegiate a solid start with an opening stand of 54, and Thomas Currie (44 in 46 balls) and Matt Tyas (48 in 55) provided acceleration, but they had too much to do, and Arsalan Mir (3-26 in eight), with three wickets in his second spell, ensured that their efforts were in vain. 
Club captain Hammad Usman and captain on the day Aslam Hayat received the Whitworth Cup from League Ambassador Terry Bentham. Hayat was also adjudged player-of-the-match for his crucial unbeaten 63. 
The YCSPL would like to thank Mick Ford, Mick Fairman and all at Tickhill CC, who did a magnificent job of hosting the game, and organisers Linzey Scothern and Steve Ward. 
Share this post:
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings