Yorkshire Premier Leagues structure 
The Yorkshire Premier League structure 
During 2014 and 2015, planning was ongoing in earnest to reorganise Premier League cricket and provide a pyramid structure to enable club progression in Yorkshire. 
As part of this reorganisation, the old Yorkshire League was effectively split in two, with the seven most northerly clubs and five clubs from the York & District Senior League making up Yorkshire Premier League North (YPLN), whilst the seven remaining Yorkshire League clubs, along with four clubs from the South Yorkshire Senior Cricket League (SYSCL) and Wakefield Thornes from the Central Yorkshire League made up the Yorkshire South Premier League (YSPL). 
At the same time, the Bradford League applied for Premier League status to cover the west of the county, and the North Yorkshire & South Durham Premier League formed Yorkshire’s fourth ‘pyramid’. 
All four leagues are independent and autonomous, under the overall direction of the Yorkshire Premier Leagues Management Board. 
White Rose Yorkshire Champions Trophy 
The White Rose Yorkshire Champions Trophy was introduced as the prize for the winners of an end-of-season play-off between the winners of the four Premier Leagues. Wakefield Thornes, the first champions of the YSPL, beat Bradford League Champions Pudsey St Lawrence in the first final in Abu Dhabi to become the first Premier League champions of Yorkshire in 2016. 
YSPL champions in each of its first three years, Wakefield Thornes reached the White Rose Championship Final three times in succession. Following their famous win over Pudsey St Lawrence, they lost to Hanging Heaton in 2017 before regaining their Yorkshire Champions title with a comfortable win over Great Ayton in the 2018 final at Headingley.  
In 2019, Sheriff Hutton Bridge of the YPLN beat Woodlands of the Bradford league to take the trophy into the north of the county for the first time. The competition was suspended in 2020 due to the Covid outbreak. 
The draw for the 2021 semi-finals is: 
Yorkshire Cricket Southern Premier League v Bradford Premier League 
Yorkshire Premier League North v North Yorkshire & South Durham League 
The final is scheduled for Saturday 18 September at Emerald Headingley. 
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings